JEA ATTENDANCE AT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL (CALLED BY THE MAYOR) February 14, 2018

Board Members of JEA attended a Special Meeting of the Council (called by the Mayor) on Wednesday, February 14, 2018, City Council Chamber, 1st Floor, City Hall 117 West Duval Street, Jacksonville, Florida.

JEA Board Members in attendance: JEA Board Chair Alan Howard, Kelly Flanagan, April Green, Aaron Zahn (Nominated)

Excused: Husein Cumber and Frederick Newbill

City Council Members in attendance: Anna Lopez Brosche (President), Greg Anderson, Danny Becton, Aaron Bowman, Lori Boyer, Katrina Brown, Reggie Brown, Doyle Carter, John Crescimbeni, Garrett Dennis, Al Ferraro, Reggie Gaffney, Bill Gulliford, Tommy Hazouri, Jim Love, Joyce Morgan, Scott Wilson

Excused: Council Member Sam Newby and Matt Schellenberg

Also in attendance from JEA: Paul McElroy, Melissa Dykes, Jody Brooks, Ted Hobson, Angie Hiers, Mike Hightower, Paul Cosgrave, Kerri Stewart, Mike Brost, Brian Roche, Melissa Charleroy, Nancy Veasey, Jordan Pope, Joe Orfano, Ryan Wannemacher, Gerri Boyce and Gina Kyle.

Also in attendance from the City of Jacksonville: Mayor Lenny Curry, Brian Hughes, Jason Gabriel, Peggy Sidman, Paige Johnston – Office of General Counsel; Kyle Billy, Kim Taylor and Phillip Peterson – Council Auditor's Office; Carol Owens – Legislative Services Division; Steve Cassada – Council Staff Services; Sam Mousa, Ali Korman and Jordan Elsbury – Mayor's Office

Call to Order – City Council President Brosche called the meeting to order at 3:03 PM.

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance – Council Member Doyle Carter provided the Invocation and lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

Council President Brosche announced that normal procedural rules of the Council would apply for today's meeting. Council President Brosche welcomed representatives of the City administration and JEA to the meeting and read the notice of special meeting. In response to a question from Council Member Dennis regarding JEA's public notice for today's meeting, Jody Brooks of the Office of General Counsel and JEA's Chief Legal Officer stated that the JEA Board noticed today's meeting in a timely manner and that no action would be taken today.

Paul McElroy, Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer introduced JEA Board Chair Alan Howard. Chair Howard addressed the City Council regarding the purpose of today's meeting. Chair Howard recognized Board Members Kelly Flanagan, April Green, and nominated Board Member Aaron Zahn.

Chair Howard introduced Mr. Michael Mace, Managing Director, Public Financial Management (PFM). Mr. Mace briefly reviewed PFM's charge from JEA and provided a presentation including the origins of the report, scope of the report, utility industry valuation and trends, valuation methodologies and metrics, important considerations and the sale process.

Council Members Brosche (President), Gulliford, Crescimbeni, Brown, Hazouri, Becton, Bowman, Ferraro, and Dennis conducted a time of questions and answers with Mr. Mace, Chair Howard, and Mr. McElroy.

Council President Brosche called for a time of public comment. Public Comments were received by: Jennifer Stokes, Raymond Diaz, John Bezares, Valerie Gutierrez, Ronnie Burris, James Taylor, Lisa King, Blake Harper, Keith Hodges, Andy Johnson, Matthew Killen, Joseph Lanning, Russell Harper, John Winkler, John Nixon, Catherine Pierce, Ali Samiian, and Chris Richardson.

Council President Brosche took note of those Council Members that did not get an opportunity to pose their questions before the public comment period and stated they will be provided the first opportunity at the next meeting.

Adjournment – With no further business claiming the attention of the City Council or JEA Board Members, the meeting adjourned at 5:50 PM.

Mr. Mace provided hard copies of the report produced by PFM to City Council Members.

	APPROVED BY:
Submitted by:	Frederick Newbill, Board Secretary Date:
Melissa Charleroy Executive Assistant	